Latest News – 27-12-2020


Our AGM was held last Sunday, December 27th outdoors in Monaduff. All Covid-19 guidelines were observed. Secretary Lorraine Corrigan gave out a comprehensive report on the events of the previous year and Treasurer Stephen McDermott outlined the Income & Expenditure for 2020 in his report. Chairman Séamus Gallagher expressed his gratitude to the outgoing committee and all those who supported the club in any way during the year. The officers elected for 2021 were as follows:

Presidents: Fr. Bernard Hogan, Jimmy Breslin, Frank McNamee, Jimmy Courtney, Mary Gilhooley. Packie Gorman and Paddy McWade
Chairperson: Michael Mulleady.
Vice Chairperson: Séamus Gallagher.
Secretary: Lorraine Corrigan.
Treasurer: Stephen McDermott.
Assistant Treasurer: Betty Creegan, Von Corrigan & Kathleen Brady.
PRO: Pauric Gill.
Registrar: Bridie Reilly.
County Board Delegates: Séamus Noonan, Paddy O’Neill, Pat Donnelly.

Sub-Delegate: Paul Dowler.
Insurance Officer: Paul Dowler.
Development Officers: Thomas Gill, Brian Duffy & Pat Corrigan.
Irish Officer: Michael Lennon.
Club Health & Well Being Officer: Darren Smith.
Children’s Welfare Officer: Dessie Connell

Scór Co-Ordinator: Lorraine Corrigan & Von Corrigan

Senior Team Manager: Jack Lynn. Selectors: Dessie Connell, Niall Mulleady and Graham Lee

Junior Team Manager: Darren Smith.

U20 Team Manager: Paddy Collum. Selectors: David Collum & Ciarán Cooney

The annual club awards were also decided on the day.

Senior Player of the Year: Martin Cassidy

Young Player of the Year: Conor Keenan

Club Personality of the Year: Séamus Gallagher

Well done to all the award winner on their well-deserved accolades. Well done also to the other senior player of the year nominees; Cian Brady and Liam Lynch
The club would like to welcome all the new members on board and also express a big thank you to all the committee members who stepped down after their years of hard work and service. The club would also like to wish the new committee all the best for the coming year. In particular the club would like to thank Séamus Gallagher who stepped down as Chairperson after 3 years. We wish incoming Chairperson Mike Mulleady the very best of luck. Thank you to Paddy Collum and Emmet Noonan (EMPA) who sponsored and provided Gaels masks for everyone at the meeting.



Club Lotto

Our postponed lotto draw was held on Wednesday last, December 23rd. The Jackpot was €4,000 and the numbers drawn were as follows:


1, 14, 18, 20


There was no winner. The three €50 lucky dip winners were as follows:


Jackie O’Toole, Annagh

Conor Keenan, Clonaugh

Pauric McGee, Kilnashee


Brandy winners:

Alex Jones, Gortletteragh

Noeleen O’Neill, Derryheelan


Tin of Biscuits winners:

Ciarán McCabe, Aughavas

Malachy Scott, Ballinamuck


Tin of Sweets winners:

Michelle Leahy, Crott

John O’Neill, Creenagh


The next draw will take place on Monday, January 4th and the Jackpot is now €4,200.



Please continue to support our club lotto at the following website:

To support Fr. Manning Gaels please purchase from under the Fr. Manning Gaels GFC lotto section.



National Club Draw

The National Club Draw tickets are back on sale again this year and this great initiative by the GAA has helped contribute vital funds to our club for the past number of years. Individual prizes include: A brand new Renault Clio; a €2,000 travel voucher; All Ireland Hurling & Football packages; various shopping vouchers and many more. Details of each prize available are on each ticket. Tickets cost €10 and can be purchased on Clubspot. This year the club is running a Gaels specific draw where one lucky person who buys from us will win €1,000. As always, your support is greatly appreciated.



Annual Christmas Quiz

Thank you to all who supported our annual Christmas Quiz last Sunday night. We hope you all enjoyed it. Our quiz has been going a number of years so it was important to keep this Christmas tradition going despite being unable to hold it in the usual table-quiz format. The winners were as follows:

1st – Joseph Gill €100
2nd – Eimear Kellegher – €60
3rd – Ronan Williams – €30

Our Raffle Spot Prize winners were as follows:

Christmas Hamper – Cian Waldron
White Wine & chocolates – Brendan Kane
Bottle of Scotch – Emmett O’Gara
Bottle of Powers – Gráinne McNamee
2x bottles of wine – Eamon Wall
Bottle of Jameson – David Hannify
Tin of Biscuits – Elaine Ellis
Tin of Sweets – Helena Brady


Thank you to Pauric Gill for organising and promoting the quiz this year. Thank you to Lorraine Corrigan for sponsoring the hamper and to Paul Dowler, Mike Mulleady, Stephen McDermott, Pauric Gill, Séamus Gallagher and Thomas Gill for sponsoring the other spot prizes.




Club Membership

Club Membership for the forthcoming year is now available. The cost is €30 for adults and €15 for students. Membership is required for all playing members and for use of the gym. Membership entitles you to attend monthly club meetings and if received before March 31st, entitles you to a vote at next year’s AGM and entry into the draw for All Ireland tickets. To pay please contact Registrar, Bridie Reilly.


Happy New Year

We would like to wish all our members, players, supporters, coaches and sponsors a very happy new year. Thank you to everyone who helped us in anyway way during the last 12 months. Athbhliain faoi shéan is faoi mhaise daoibh.


Thank You

Thank you to Padraig O’Brien and all the sports team at the Longford Leader for their publication of our club notes during the year and their continued, excellent coverage and promotion of our games. Go raibh míle maith agaibh.