Latest News – 16-12-2018

Annual General Meeting: Our AGM was held last Sunday, December 16th in Monaduff. Secretary Lorraine Corrigan gave a comprehensive report on the events of the previous year and Treasurer Stephen McDermott outlined the Income & Expenditure for 2018 in his report. Chairman Séamus Gallagher then expressed his gratitude to the outgoing committee and all those who supported the club in any way during the year. The officers elected for 2019 were as follows:

Presidents: Fr. Bernard Hogan, Jimmy Breslin, Frank McNamee, Jimmy Courtney, and Mary Gilhooley.
Chairperson: Séamus Gallagher.
Vice Chairperson: Mike Mulleady.
Secretary: Lorraine Corrigan.
Assistant Secretaries: Pauline Corr & JP Murphy.
Treasurer: Stephen McDermott.
Assistant Treasurer: Betty Creegan & Kathleen Brady.
Finance Sub Committee: Betty Creegan, Kathleen Brady, Pauric Gill, Ciaran Cooney, Mark Duffy, and Stephen McDermott.
PRO: Pauric Gill.
Registrar: Bridie Reilly.
County Board Delegates: Pat Corrigan, Paddy O’Neill, Pat Donnelly.

Sub-Delegate: Séamus Noonan.
Insurance Officer: Frankie McGowan.
(Joint) Development Officers: Thomas Gill & Brian Duffy.
Irish Officer: Michael Lennon.
Club Health & Well Being Officer: Darren Smith.
Children’s Welfare Officer: Dessie Connell

Scór Co-Ordinator: Lorraine Corrigan & Michael Lennon
Intermediate Team Manager: Jack Lynn. Selector: Dessie Connell

Junior Team Manager: Anthony McKeon. Selector: Séamus Gallagher

U20 Team Manager: Paddy Collum. Selectors: David Collum & Ciarán Cooney
The club would like to welcome all the new members on board and also express a big thank you to all the committee members who stepped down after their years of hard work and service. The club would also like to wish the new committee all the best for the coming year.

The following awards were decided on the night:

Player of the Year: Dean Cosgrave
U-20 Player of the Year: Aaron McGee
Club Personality of Year : Bridie Reilly

Congratulations to all concerned on their well-deserved accolades. Well done also to those who were nominated. The Senior nominees also included David Collum and Paddy Collum. The U20 nominees also included Ryan Crowe, Michael McKenna and Mark Hughes.


Lotto: The Lotto draw was held last Monday, December 17th, in The Olde Village, Drumlish. The Jackpot was €14,000. Results are on the club website and will be published in next week’s notes. Tickets are available from the usual outlets and from any member of the executive. Thank you to everyone who continues to support our lotto.

Annual Christmas Quiz: Our annual Christmas table quiz will be held in The Mill Bar, Drumlish on Friday, December 28th at 9pm. A great night’s entertainment is assured and there will be prizes for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place as well as a raffle on the night. A table of 4 costs €40. The Player of the Year and Clubperson of the Year awards will also be presented on the night

National Club Draw: The National Club Draw tickets are back on sale again this year and this great initiative by the GAA has helped contribute vital funds to our club for the past number of years. There is a new prize for participating clubs whereby there is a chance to play a club championship match in Croke Park. Individual prizes include: A brand new Renault Clio 4 Expression; a €2,000 travel voucher; All Ireland Hurling & Football packages; various shopping vouchers and many more. Details of each prize available are on each ticket. Tickets cost €10 and can be bought from any member of the Gaels squad. As always, your support is greatly appreciated.

Longford: Well done to Paddy Collum, Pauric Gill, Padraic Davis, Ian Higgins and Gordon Smyth on Longford’s win over Meath in the second round of the O’Byrne Cup on Saturday last.

Sympathy: The club would like to express its sympathy to the family and friends of Jimmy Reilly (formerly of St. Mary’s Street, Drumlish) and also to the family and friends of Lizzie Scott (née McQu:aide, formerly of Lettergullion) who both passed away recently. Solas na bhFlaitheas orthu